Avoiding Divorce: 101. For Black Men. 

Reviews

Shirley Angichiodo

Told it like it really is.

Reviewed on July 26, 2020.

Michael, you told it like it really is. No one is a mind reader and when women feel taken for granted we do withdraw. Being in an interracial relationship gave me great insight into what my guy is sometimes thinking. You're honesty about your mistakes, and your truths will be a great value to anyone who reads this book. In these troubling times I felt faith renewed. I think it's a book everyone should read even before you are married so you can follow the good advice on how to stay married. Best of luck to you. Thank you for sharing your life experiences.

Cassandra Curry

Powerful Read

Reviewed on July 28, 2020

With the divorce rate so high this book is right on time! The author shares with the reader how to navigate in a modern day marriage! He is very transparent and shares his own personal experiences with the reader the good, bad, and the ugly! 

 

The title has “Black Men” in it but his life experiences are circumstances we all have experienced at some point in relationships. His love for God and family are apparent throughout the book. I could really relate to the section of the female in the book! This book would be great for a marriage ministry, book club, or family devotion.  

You won’t be disappointed!

Akinyi Gaya

Do's and don't in a marriage.

Reviewed on June 11, 2020

The author has used his own experiences as teachers, to help others to avoid the mistakes that he made and that is a lot of what goes on in relationships and marriages. Some of those major issues that affect marriages being: Communication, sex, romance, finances just to mention a few. The highlight for me was how he analyzed how your wife should be your help-mate and not your competitor.

Chiquita Cotton

Awesome Read

Reviewed on July 8, 2020

This is an awesome read a must-have book for an African American male. This book will give him insight on the discussions that women have with each other about what is lacking in our marriages and dating life especially in this day and age. This author hit the nail on the head when it came to how women feel and what we need from the men in our lives. I will be passing this book along to my son.

Kathy D Williams

Marriage Preparation, Tips

Reviewed on April 24, 2020

The Author shares his personal experience in hopes to help couples stay married. This novel is great to use in a singles small groups or married couples discussions. If you are preparing to be remarried or married for the first time, the author shares plenty of warning signs to make changes that could lead to a successful lasting marriage. A must read novel.

Coni

Real talk!

Reviewed on July 7, 2020

I enjoyed reading this book! Even though the title implies for Black Men, it is not just for men alone. The spotlight is put on the high rate of divorce in the black community, the negative generational effects caused when a marriage is dissolved so quickly; in most cases without adequate council, and the advantages of maintaining the African American family as a unit. The author and co-authors words are succinct and to the point! Each module takes you on a journey and illustrates step by step the affects of divorce, and the economic impact. It also highlights and defines the importance of the women’s role in a marriage (which I could definitely relate to), and the long term effects in maintaining a strong family relationship. A very powerful read!

Robert P.

Insightful!

Reviewed on February 2, 2020

Insightful novel for black men of all ages. Author uses his own life experiences to illustrate theories why some black men potentially behave the way they do. Novel encourages the reader to look deep into their past to understand who they really are and who they want to be, providing the foundation to become more successful in dealing with all life situations.

Debora

LeMay lays out the blueprint for marital harmony!

Reviewed on July 4, 2020

As a woman reading this I felt like the proverbial fly on the wall. Michael Le May goes after the roots of the cancer of divorce. I found it both heartbreaking and inspirational. With every word the author reveals his love for the Black family, and his genuine desire to help others avoid the pain that he has experienced. His male point of view is a must read for young Black men. Mr. LeMay gives you the plain talk that so many men need. Avoiding Divorce 101 is a fatherly explanation of what to do when you find your wife. LeMay like a father or brother tells you how to lead your family away from the pitfalls of relationships and divorce.

Charles A. West

A Better Life

Reviewed on February 7, 2020

LeMay offers valuable insights from his own experiences and other experts he consulted. Investing a little time in digesting his book could pay huge dividends for many men.